• Prof. Dr. Julia Leinweber, Evangelische Hochschule Berlin

Brain City Ambassador Prof. Dr. Julia Leinweber has been a W2 professor in the midwifery course at the Evangelische Hochschule Berlin (EHB) since 2016. In her research she focuses on the birth experience of women and the psychological and emotional health of women before and after birth.

“How women experience birth subjectively depends on how well they feel cared for in this vulnerable situation. The subjective experience of childbirth in the period immediately after the birth but also beyond, has far-reaching effects on their emotional and mental health, and on that of their families,” explains Prof. Dr. Julia Leinweber.

After qualifying as a midwife, she completed academic training in the UK and Australia, where she specialised in women’s health at the School of Public Health at the University of Melbourne. With a postgraduate scholarship from the Griffith University in Brisbane, Julia Leinweber conducted research on the trauma experience of midwives in Australia as part of her PhD in Midwifery and Perinatal Mental Health. She found that the ability of midwives to accompany births in an empathetic way may decrease if they frequently attend traumatic births.

When the possibility opened up for her four years ago to help shape the still new midwifery course at the Evangelische Hochschule Berlin as a funded professor as part of the Berlin Program for the Promotion of Equal Opportunities for Women in Research and Teaching (BCP), she seized the opportunity.

The density of the scientific locations in Berlin and also the networking within European networks brings a lively and dynamic element into research.

As expected, she experienced the scientific landscape of the Brain City as diverse and very open to cooperation. “The density of the scientific locations in Berlin and the networking within European networks brings a lively and dynamic element into research. I have a very good international and interdisciplinary network and therefore make exciting contacts. The possibilities for this were less pronounced at the Australian locations.”

Julia Leinweber is currently leading the German branches of two Erasmus projects on the topics of health literacy and empathetic childbirth. She is also actively involved in the new EU COST research network on the subject of traumatic childbirth and perinatal mental health and co-founder of the working group "Respektvolle Geburtshilfe" (Respectful Obstetrics) of the German Society of Midwifery Science (DGHWi). The latter aims to promote the transfer of theory to practice in the field of respectful care for women in the time around childbirth.

The reputation of the city as a diverse and tolerant place was also decisive for moving from Australia to Berlin with her family. The open atmosphere in the Brain City Berlin continues to excite her: “What I like about living in Berlin is the peaceful coexistence of a variety of life plans. This diversity promotes innovation and creativity - which is particularly important in the current situation!"

• Prof. Dr. Julia Leinweber, Evangelische Hochschule Berlin

Brain City-Botschafterin Prof. Dr. Julia Leinweber ist seit 2016 W2 Zeitprofessorin im Studiengang Hebammenkunde an der Evangelischen Hochschule Berlin (EHB). In ihrer Forschung beschäftigt sie sich mit dem Geburtserleben von Frauen und mit psychischer und emotionaler Gesundheit von Frauen vor und nach der Geburt.

„Wie Frauen die Geburt subjektiv erleben, hängt davon ab, wie gut sie sich betreut fühlen in dieser vulnerablen Situation. Das subjektive Erleben der Geburt hat Auswirkungen auf die emotionale und psychische Gesundheit von Frauen und auch auf die ihrer Familien – direkt nach der Geburt aber auch über die Zeit der Geburt hinaus“, erläutert Prof. Dr. Julia Leinweber. 

Nach ihrer Qualifikation zur Hebamme absolvierte sie eine akademische Ausbildung in Großbritannien und Australien, wo sie sich an der School of Public Health der University of Melbourne im Bereich Frauengesundheit spezialisierte. Mit einem Postgraduiertenstipendium von der Griffith University in Brisbane forschte Julia Leinweber im Rahmen ihres PhD im Fach Midwifery und Perinatal Mental Health zum Traumaerleben von Hebammen in Australien. Sie fand heraus, dass sich bei Hebammen die Fähigkeit, Geburten empathisch zu begleiten, reduzieren kann, wenn sie häufig traumatischen Geburten beiwohnen.

Als sich ihr vor vier Jahren die Möglichkeit eröffnete, im Rahmen des Berliner Programms zur Förderung der Chancengleichheit für Frauen in Forschung und Lehre (BCP) als geförderte Professorin den noch jungen Studiengang Hebammenkunde der Evangelischen Hochschule Berlin mitzugestalten, ergriff sie die Gelegenheit beim Schopfe.

Die Dichte der wissenschaftlichen Standorte in Berlin und auch die Vernetzung innerhalb europäischer Netzwerke bringt eine sehr lebendige Dynamik in die Forschung.

Wie erhofft, erlebte sie die Wissenschaftslandschaft der Brain City als vielfältig und sehr offen für Kooperationen. „Die Dichte der wissenschaftlichen Standorte in Berlin und auch die Vernetzung innerhalb europäischer Netzwerke bringt eine sehr lebendige Dynamik in die Forschung. Ich bin sehr gut international und interdisziplinär vernetzt und treffe dadurch spannende Kontakte. Die Möglichkeiten hierfür waren an den australischen Standorten weniger ausgeprägt.”

Aktuell leitet Julia Leinweber die deutschen Zweige zweier Erasmusprojekte zu den Themen Health Literacy und empathische Geburtsbetreuung. Außerdem ist sie aktiv am neuen EU COST-Forschungsnetzwerk zum Thema traumatisches Geburtserleben und perinatale psychische Gesundheit beteiligt und Mitbegründerin der AG „Respektvolle Geburtshilfe“ der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Hebamenwissenschaft (DGHWi). Letztere hat zum Ziel, den Theorie-Praxis-Transfer im Bereich respektvolle Betreuung von Frauen in der Zeit um die Geburt herum zu fördern.

Ausschlaggebend dafür, dass Julia Leinweber mit ihrer Familie von Australien nach Berlin zog, war auch der Ruf der Stadt als diverser und toleranter Ort. Die offene Atmosphäre in der Brain City Berlin begeistert sie nach wie vor: „Am Leben in Berlin schätze ich das friedliche Nebeneinander einer Vielfalt von Lebensentwürfe. Diese Vielfalt fördert Innovation und Kreativität – das ist besonders in der jetzigen Situation wichtig!"