• Prof. Dr. Christine Bauhardt, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Brain City Ambassador, Professor Dr. Christine Bauhardt heads the Gender and Globalisation Department in the Life Sciences faculty at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. In her research, she looks at aspects of environmental policy, agricultural and food policy, and infrastructure policy from a critical gender perspective.

Berlin has been the centre of Dr. Christine Bauhardt's life for 20 years. "Like many, I came to Berlin for work; I didn't choose the city," says the academic, head of the Gender and Globalisation Department in the Life Sciences faculty at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

1999 turned out to be a career-defining year for Christine Bauhardt: she was invited to the Technische Universität Berlin to develop and do a trial run of a chair in women's and gender research in spatial and environmental planning. "I had previously worked as a research assistant at the Faculty of Spatial Planning at the University of Dortmund." Her work was intended to lay the groundwork for a future department, but the project ultimately failed, despite her success in getting it up and running. "Thanks to the Senate's austerity constraints," as she puts it today. "I then concentrated on completing my qualifying dissertation and was fortunate to be appointed to the Gender and Globalisation professorship at HU Berlin in 2005."

Berlin needs critical spirits to continue to remain the attractive and vibrant city it has been. The university is just one place among many that make this city exciting and interesting.

Christine Bauhardt's research focus is in the areas of environmental policy, agricultural and food policy, and infrastructure policy, all viewed from a critical gender perspective. "My research on alternative economies also falls into the area of environmental policy. I start with an analysis of the care economy, i.e. taking care and responsibility for people who are not yet able to take care of themselves, either temporarily or permanently. Care activities take place on both a paid and unpaid basis, but are at the core of any economic organisation in society," she says. Her team at the department also takes this perspective to analyse agricultural and food policies: care as the principle of a sustainable nutritional system from production to shopping and meal preparation. "In the field of infrastructure policies, I'm particularly interested in transport/mobility and water," says the professor.

Christine Bauhardt still enjoys living in Berlin. "Because it is a big city with so different social groups, the cultural offerings are varied and affordable for most people." Another big advantage of Brain City Berlin is the close-knit scientific networking, according to Christine Bauhardt. She actively uses this network herself. “Currently, for example, via the Berlin University Alliance. In principle, the proximity to political decision-makers here in Berlin can also play an important role in lobbying for policies. However, I sense quite a distance between politics and science."

And what does the life scientist advise young researchers who are new to Berlin? “In any case, they should take the chance to get involved intensively in the city's public sphere. Berlin needs critical spirits to continue to remain the attractive and vibrant city it has been. The university is just one place among many that make this city exciting and interesting."

More ambassadors

• Prof. Dr. Christine Bauhardt, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Brain City Berlin Botschafterin Prof. Dr. Christine Bauhardt leitet das Fachgebiet „Gender und Globalisierung“ an der Lebenswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. In ihrer Forschung betrachtet sie die Bereiche Umweltpolitik, Agrar- und Ernährungspolitik sowie Infrastrukturpolitik aus einer kritischen Geschlechterperspektive heraus.

Berlin ist bereits seit 20 Jahren der Lebensmittelpunkt von Prof. Dr. Christine Bauhardt. „Ich bin wie wahrscheinlich viele über den Beruf nach Berlin gekommen, ich hatte mir die Stadt nicht ausgesucht“, sagt die Wissenschaftlerin, die heute an der Lebenswissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin das Fachgebiet „Gender und Globalisierung“ leitet.

1999 war für Christine Bauhardt ein karrierebestimmendes Jahr: Sie wurde an die Technische Universität Berlin eingeladen, um dort das Profil einer Professur für „Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung in der Raum- und Umweltplanung“ zu entwickeln und praktisch zu erproben. „Zuvor hatte ich als Wissenschaftliche Assistentin an der Fakultät Raumplanung der Universität Dortmund gearbeitet.“ Perspektivisch sollte aus ihren Vorschlägen ein entsprechendes Fachgebiet eingerichtet werden. Doch obwohl sie sehr erfolgreich das Konzept für die Professur entwickelte und Inhalte implementierte, scheiterte deren Einrichtung. „Am Sparzwang des Senats“, wie sie heute sagt. „Daraufhin habe ich mich auf meine Habilitation konzentriert und wurde 2005 zu meinem großen Glück auf die Professur ‚Gender und Globalisierung’ an die HU Berlin berufen.“

Berlin braucht kritische Geister, um weiterhin die attraktive und vibrierende Stadt zu bleiben, die sie bislang ist. Die Universität ist nur ein Ort unter vielen, die diese Stadt spannend und interessant macht.

Christine Bauhardts Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen Umweltpolitik, Agrar- und Ernährungspolitik sowie Infrastrukturpolitiken – aus einer kritischen Geschlechterperspektive heraus betrachtet. „In den Themenbereich Umweltpolitik fallen auch meine Forschungen zu alternativen Ökonomien. Hier gehe ich von der Analyseperspektive der Care-Ökonomie aus. Also von der Sorge- und Verantwortungsarbeit für Menschen, die noch nicht oder – temporär oder dauerhaft – nicht mehr selbst für sich sorgen können. Care-Aktivitäten finden bezahlt und unbezahlt statt, sind aber ein Kern jeder ökonomischen Organisation von Gesellschaften“, sagt sie. Diese Perspektive nimmt ihr Team am Fachgebiet auch zur Analyse von Agrar- und Ernährungspolitiken ein: Care als Prinzip eines nachhaltigen Ernährungssystems, von der Produktion über den Einkauf bis zur Mahlzeit. „Im Themenfeld Infrastrukturpolitiken interessiere ich mich besonders für Verkehr/Mobilität und Wasser“, so die engagierte Professorin.

In Berlin lebt Christine Bauhardt nach wie vor gern. „Weil es eine Großstadt ist, in der immer noch soziale und kulturelle Heterogenität überwiegt. Das kulturelle Angebot ist vielfältig und für die meisten Menschen und nicht nur für die ökonomische Elite erschwinglich.“ Ein großer Vorteil der Brain City Berlin liege außerdem in der engmaschigen wissenschaftlichen Vernetzung, so Christine Bauhardt. Sie selbst nutzt dieses Netzwerk aktiv. „Aktuell zum Beispiel über die Berlin University Alliance. Im Prinzip kann ja auch die räumliche Nähe zu politischen Entscheidungsträger*innen hier in Berlin eine wichtige Rolle für die Politikberatung spielen. Allerdings nehme ich eine große Distanz zwischen Politik und Wissenschaft wahr.“

Und was rät die Lebenswissenschaftlerin jungen Forscher*innen, die neu nach Berlin kommen? „Auf jeden Fall sollten sie die Chance nutzen, sich intensiv in die städtische Öffentlichkeit einzubringen.Berlin braucht kritische Geister, um weiterhin die attraktive und vibrierende Stadt zu bleiben, die sie bislang ist. Die Universität ist nur ein Ort unter vielen, die diese Stadt spannend und interessant macht.“

Mehr Botschafter