• Prof. Dr. Brigitte Biehl, SRH Berlin University of Applied Sciences

Brain City Berlin Ambassador Professor Dr. Brigitte Biehl heads the course in Creative Industries Management at the School of Popular Arts Berlin at SRH University of Applied Sciences and is Director of IWK, the "Institut für Weiterbildung in der Kreativwirtschaft". Her research focuses on Berlin club culture as well as the influence of art on companies.  ​​​​​​​

"Creative impulses are very important for my research and that's exactly what we have here in Berlin: Berliners and international people doing cool things; cultural institutions with very current offerings; fashion, trends, clubs," says Professor Dr. Brigitte Biehl. Born in Berlin, Biehl heads the course in Creative Industries Management at the School of Popular Arts Berlin at SRH University of Applied Sciences. In her research she brings together art, creativity, and management. As the director of the SRH Institute for Continuing Education, she also connects artists with businesses. "I've explored how companies use the world of art as an inspiration and tool to create products, architecture, and experiences, to stage employees and managers." She also addresses the connection between electronic music and Berlin clubs. "For example, I have discovered what it is that managers can learn from DJs  to make people ‚move’.“ 

Creative impulses are very important for my research and that's exactly what we have here in Berlin: Berliners and international people doing cool things; cultural institutions with very current offerings; fashion, trends, clubs.

Having studied theatre, film, and media as well as business, Biehl sees the Brain City Berlin offering clear advantages as a location: "As you can see, my research fits in well with Berlin and its claim to be a creative metropolis. I am very well networked and make exciting contacts. For instance, I could not do that at universities in Wales or in Essex," she says, adding: Colleagues from all over the world like to come to us: In November, I'm welcoming scholars from Finland, Australia, and Tanzania!" It is not without reason that Brigitte Biehl moved back to her hometown after 30 years away. Her two sons were also born here. "Berlin and its culture reflect the particularities of German history: uncompromised, different!" 

More ambassadors

• Prof. Dr. Brigitte Biehl, SRH Berlin University of Applied Sciences

Brain City Berlin-Botschafterin Prof. Dr. Brigitte Biehl ist Leiterin des Studiengang Creative Industries Management an der SRH Berlin University of Applied Sciences, School of Popular Arts sowie Direktorin des „Institut für Weiterbildung in der Kreativwirtschaft" (IWK). In ihrer Forschung beschäftigt sie sich mit der Berliner Clubkultur ebenso wie mit dem Einfluss von Kunst auf Unternehmen.  

„Kreative Impulse sind sehr wichtig für meine Forschung, und die gibt es genau in Berlin: Berliner und internationale Leute, die coole Sachen machen; Kulturinstitutionen mit hochaktuellen Angeboten; Mode, Szene, Clubs“, sagt Prof. Dr. Brigitte Biehl. Die gebürtige Berlinerin ist Leiterin des Studiengang Creative Industries Management an der SRH Berlin University of Applied Sciences, School of Popular Arts. In ihrer Forschung bringt sie Kunst, Kreativität und Management zusammen. Als Direktorin des SHR-Instituts für Weiterbildung vermittelt sie außerdem Künstler*innen an Unternehmen. „Ich habe untersucht, wie Unternehmen die Welt der Kunst als Inspiration und Werkzeug nutzen um Produkte, Architekturen und Erlebnisse zu schaffen, Mitarbeiter*innen und Manager*innen zu inszenieren.“ Auch mit der Verbindung zwischen elektronischer Musik und Berliner Clubs beschäftigt sie sich. „So habe ich beispielsweise herausgefunden, was Führungspersonen von Techno-DJs lernen können, um Menschen ‚in Bewegung’ zu bringen.“ 

Kreative Impulse sind sehr wichtig für meine Forschung, und die gibt es genau in Berlin: Berliner und internationale Leute, die coole Sachen machen; Kulturinstitutionen mit hochaktuellen Angeboten; Mode, Szene, Clubs.

Der studierten Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaftlerin sowie Betriebswissenschaftlerin bietet die Brain City Berlin als Standort klare Vorteile: „Wie Sie sehen, passt meine Forschung sehr zu Berlin und dessen Anspruch als kreative Metropole. Ich bin sehr gut vernetzt und treffe dadurch spannende Kontakte. Das konnte ich weder an den Unis in Wales noch in Essex“, sagt sie und ergänzt: Im Moment kommen auch Kollegen aus aller Welt gern zu uns: Im November habe ich Uni-Besuch aus Finnland, Australien und Tansania!“ Nicht von ungefähr zog es Brigitte Biehl nach 30 Jahren zurück in ihre Heimatstadt, wo auch ihre beiden Söhne geboren sind. „In Berlin und seiner Kultur lebt die besondere deutsche Geschichte weiter: unangepasst, anders!“ 

Mehr Botschafter