• Dr Andrew Newman, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Brain City Berlin Ambassador Dr Andrew Newman is a postdoctoral researcher at the Institute for Cell and Neurobiology at the Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Brain City Berlin is where he does research and is also his chosen home.

"Berlin is a superior research location for multiple reasons. In addition to innumerable research institutions that continuously collaborate, Berlin as a city fosters scientific discovery because of its identity. Because Berlin was reborn several times in the past half a century, the culture in science here is open and is free from the stale hierarchy seen in other cities that stifles innovation," says Andrew Newman. As a postdoctoral researcher at the Institute of Cell and Neurobiology at the Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, he uses exactly this scientific freedom for his medical research: "A main focus of my research is trying to understand how gradual changes to DNA and chromatin modifications cause ageing in neurons. I also study how exogenous infections from viruses can negatively impact the stability of the genome." To answer the many related questions, Andrew Newman relies on a mix of wet-lab techniques and advanced computational analysis using various sequencing methodologies.

So much is happening, inside research and outside. It's so green and transport is fantastic. Berlin is both small and large. That's what I love about the city.

Like many other talents, the young neurobiologist would be glad to stay in Berlin permanently. "Because Berlin attracts people from all over the world, it is growing rapidly in investment and innovation, as differing perspectives drives the ideation process." For Andrew Newman, Berlin is "one of the best places to live" due to its metropolitan character.

More ambassadors

• Dr. Andrew Newman, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin

Brain City Berlin-Botschafter Dr. Andrew Newman ist Doktorand am Institut für Zell- und Neurobiologie der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin. Die Brain City Berlin ist seine Wahl- und Forschungsheimat.

„Berlin ist ein herausragender Forschungsstandort. Das hat verschiedenen Gründe: Zum einen gibt es hier unzählige Forschungsinstitutionen, die kontinuierlich zusammenarbeiten. Zum anderen fördert Berlin schon aus seiner Identität heraus den Entdeckergeist: Innerhalb der letzten hundert Jahre wurde Berlin mehrfach wiedergeboren. Daher ist die Wissenschaftskultur hier offen und frei von starren Hierarchien, die in anderen Städten Innovationen behindern“, sagt Andrew Newman. Als Doktorand am Institut für Zell- und Neurobiologie an der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin nutzt er genau diese wissenschaftliche Freiheit für seine medizinische Forschung: „Ich versuche vor allem zu verstehen, inwiefern allmähliche Veränderungen an der DNA sowie Chromatin-Modifikationen Altersprozesse in Neuronen anstoßen. Darüber hinaus untersuche ich, welchen negativen Einfluss von außen herangetragene (exogene) Virusinfektionen auf die Stabilität des Genoms haben können.“  Um die vielen Fragen zu beantworten, die sich aus seiner Forschung ergeben, nutzt Andre Newman in den Räumen der Charité eine Mischung aus Wet-Lab-Techniken und hochentwickelter Computeranalyse.

In Berlin passiert so viel: innerhalb und außerhalb der Forschung. Berlin ist grün und der öffentliche Nahverkehr fantastisch. Berlin ist klein und groß. Das alles liebe ich an der Stadt.

Ähnlich wie viele andere Talente möchte auch der junge Neurobiologe Berlin auch zukünftig in Berlin bleiben. „Berlin zieht Menschen aus der ganzen Welt an: Die Investitions- und Innovationskraft der Stadt wächst rapide. Das liegt vor allem daran, dass so viele unterschiedliche Perspektiven den Ideenfindungsprozess vorantreiben.“ Für Andrew Newman ist Berlin schon aufgrund seines Metropolencharakters „einer der besten Orte zum Leben“.

Mehr Botschafter